Cover Stitching Corners

^^^I first published this information On July 24, 2013,  in  KS2599 & Taking Corners with the Cover Stitch. I feel this is important information as it documents how to use a Cover Stitch machine to navigate corners. I’m repeating this information today so that I can have all my CS techniques in a single place that I can easily access for future projects.   ^^^

I’m enamored with the  top stitching capabilities of my cover stitch machine.  Just a few weeks ago and with a reference provided a blog comment, I spent time testing CS top stitching that would also negotiate 90 degree corners in a professional and beautiful manner.  The sample I’m sharing today was used on a back vent of a maxi- dress.  To execute a really neat finish both inside and out, the seam allowances were pressed flat and open then held in place with Steam A Seam.    By trial and error, I found options which produced very different end results.

For instance, if  the left needle is down and the fabric turned, a thread would drag producing…

a weird divot at one corner and odd stitching line on the other. It was also difficult to turn the fabric with the needle in place.

I decided to try an alternate stitching procedure

    • stitch up to the turning point
    • lift both needles completely from the fabric
    • lift the presser foot
    •  turn the fabric and align the needles along the inner stitching

This gave me  a consistent and even turn line.  It’s not the repeat that I wanted on my dress vent, but might be a possibility for something else.

Third time’s the charm. I

    • stitch up to the turning point
    • lift both needles completely
    • lift the presser foot
    •  turn the fabric and align the needles along the outer stitching line

This produced a beautiful, exciting diagonal which is mirrored on the other side of the vent.

 

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Whats In the CookBook

BLCS Instructions:

The Samples:

Housekeeping: At this point I also renumbered my pages to reflect topic rather than page number. It’s a numbering convention seen in many technical manuals. Each topic is numbered. So the JHG topic is now topic  6. There were several pages so the first page is number 6a, the second 6b and so on.  Readers of the blog won’t care but it helps me keep the multiple pages together. I also eliminated “Page” from the “What’s In the Cookbook” section at the bottom of each post.

This entry was posted in Embellishments, Top Stitching. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Cover Stitching Corners

  1. I’m looking forward to trying this, and your ruffling experiment too. Thanks so much for sharing your explorations!

Comment?

