The Binders: Attaching A binder

So at this point I’ve got the Adapter Installed on my cute little 900CPX

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

and it’s time to talk about attaching “The Binder”.  I’m using “A Style” binders, more on that in a near-future post.  Like another blogger, I looked at the attachment in the photo and said “that’s nice”.  I looked at Deb Cooks pictures and said, “Oh it might be as big as a ruffler.” What arrived in the box was, by comparison, huge. It arrives “folded” to conserve space.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

The ribbon guide, which you can barely see to the left and behind the binder tip, unfolds, er rotates to the right. At which point the binder is longer than the machine is wide.  In order to install the tool, I had to pull the ribbon guide to the front side.I apologize I don’t have a good pic of that. I can tell you I sweated the process and pulled the ribbon guide forward 3 times.  Finally I decided, I may as well break it off because I couldn’t use the binder as long as I couldn’t get it into position. I pulled hard. Didn’t break.  I haven’t checked to see if I caused is a permanent “bend”.

To put the binder on the adapter plate

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

(Be sure to unfold the ribbon guide first. It would have saved me some trouble had I been that smart.) Align the slot on the front of the binder with the screw holes of the adapter plate. Set the binder down. Remember the screw holes are surrounded by a raised area? That raised area is just enough to fit into the slot and provide a little stabilizing i.e. keep the binder in place temporarily. But it’s not enough.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

My purchase came with 4 silver thumb screws (picture top), a Phillips screw (not shown) and two white-capped thumb screws (picture bottom).  I have yet to figure out for what the silver thumb screws and the Phillips screw are to be used. They seem to turn endlessly in the holes.  Only the white-capped thumb screws eventually secured the binder to the plate. I only had two white-capped screws.  I used one to attach the plate to the machine bed.  As the pictures proceed you’ll see for a while I used the other screw, swapping between holes to trying to secure the binder. The binder would wobble. I even tried cutting my own gasket from chipboard. Still wobbled. Eventually I “borrowed” a white screw from another accessory. Of course, YMMV. I’ve yet to have an experience for which not a single person can state an exception. I’m glad for you but I’ll be using 2 screws.

GE DIGITAL CAMERA

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Whats In the CookBook

Page 10. Attaching the Binder

This entry was posted in Binding. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to The Binders: Attaching A binder

  1. Yowsa that looks complicated!

    • sdbev says:

      I promise you it’s not that bad. I just had no clue as to what I was doing. At the SM I change feet and sometimes use a seam guide. This attaching a plate and then attaching something to the plate to feed fabric strips into – whew- was a completely new experience. Plus, the binder is huge as in humongous. Totally unexpected and I can’t tell that from the pics. The adapter plate practically falls into place on it’s own. Then the binder unfolds and sits on top of the raised screw holes of the adapter plate. It’s not a terrible process. I was terribly ignorant.

  2. Maureen says:

    The tricky part is feeding the binding material into the binder. I use a florist foam block (that I covered in foil so it doesn’t leave green stuff around) and pushed a wooden dowel rod into and then used two sided sticky tape to put in place next to my coverstitch machine. I wind the strip of binding material onto an old thread spool and put it on the dowel. I feed the binder from this contraption so I can use my hands to guide the neckline (or part being bound) into the coverstich machine. I hope you find this helpful if you didn’t already know.

    • sdbev says:

      Gee I wish I’d see your comment sooner. I purchased, and it’s been shiped, a very similar item from ShapeSewing which clamps to the table and supports the binding in the same way. I realized that if I was going to keep and use the binders, I had to have a way to feed the binding without having to keep poking it with my stiletto. Well, money is spent, but it’s good to know someone else uses a similar item and it is helpful to them.

Comment?

