The Binders: The Adapter

Kens Sewing Center sells a 1/4″  Type B binder for $149.99

At the Allbrands site is a 7 piece accessory kit for the 900 CPX (10 piece for the 1000CPX)

which includes the same tape binder for $399 or you can purchase it separately for $249.99. No doubt before I’m finished, I will have spent an equal or greater amount. I’ve already purchased the Janome clear foot with center guide, the hemming guide and the adjustable seam guide not to mention the generic pieces below.

The advantage of buying these tools from Kens, Allbrands or another is that the tools have been engineered to fit on our machines. They will fit and they will work or you are doing something wrong. (Except for the rare case when the tool is damaged before it ever gets to you.)

The generic binders I purchased for $20 each, need a $86.62 adapter/base attachment plate. (Price as of Nov 2012).  I agree that this flat piece of metal at first glance doesn’t really seam worth nearly $90. The advantage is that I can now purchase attachments that  Janome doesn’t make (and probably isn’t going to make) and when I do purchase, the price will be in the  $20 range as opposed to $200 i.e. my tools will be about 1/10 or 10% of the price Janome wants. (Often they want that price for a tool which has not been re-designed but merely tested to work on their machines and then “branded” Janome.) (All the major sewing manufacturers do the same.)

So what’s so special about this attachment?  This is the front, or the adapter as it is going to be looking up at me when sitting on the machine.

From left to right, the green arrows point to a cut out which will clear the needle plate.  The orange arrow points to a circular divot. It looks like someone started to punch a hole and walked away without getting the job done. It’s very important as is and I’ll talk more about it shortly. The blue arrows point to two holes with a surrounding raised area. These will accept the screws needed to secure my accessories, currently the A type binders, and keep them aligned on the adapter plate. The orange arrow points to hole which accepts the screw to attach the adapter plate to my machine. There is another rectangular cut out just before the orange arrow. I don’t know what that is for, yet.

This is the back or the side I can’t see when the adapter is on the machine.

The important thing to notice here is the little nubbin that’s poking up where the half-punched hole was on the front side.

In this pic, the plate is turned right side up and I’m aligning it to the 4 holes drilled in the bed of the  machine. Notice that the bright orange arrow aligns the far right hole on the base of the machine with the far right hole on the plate; and the little nubbin (thought that golden color would show up better than it does) , the half punched hole, is aligned with and will drop into the far left hole. The plate lines up, the nubbin drops in nicely and then a screw is installed in the far right hole securing the plate to the machine bed.

Especially note the pink arrows.  I’m trying to point out how the plate extends over empty air. The plate is pretty secure. Oh I’m sure if I bumped hard into it, it would move. But for normal use, it’s just fine.

I want to share some information, but can’t help with details.  I know that in my Inet surfing I came across 900/1000 CPX owners that did not purchase the adapter. (It does surprise me that we, I’m included, pay hundreds and thousands of dollars for a machine and then want to penny pinch on accessories.)   I believe someone had a talented DH who concocted a wooden table that both replaced the expensive Janome table and provided the  holes needed to secure the accessories thereby no adapter plate in her house.  Someone else did something similar with a set of VHS tapes and several with various boxes and other hand-crafted table substitutes.  Something  is needed to support generic accessories and make them stable during use. It doesn’t have to be this particular adapter, but it has to do what my adapter does.

In addition to making their own “tables” and “supports”, some creative individual use duct tape,  blue tack or as in the wooden table describe above, drill holes in their constructions to will line up with the holes of the accessories so that their accessories are lined up with the needles. NOTE  The adapter or these substitutions are only needed if you don’t buy Janome certified accessories.  My Janome hem guide (yet to be shared) fits perfectly and secures easily with one screw to the machine bed. It does not need the adapter.

I went the route of purchasing the adapter because I’m not familiar with binders and folders. I don’t use them at the sewing machine or serger.If you understand how binders/folders work at the SM and serger, you already know more than I did.  I purchased the adapter because I was assured that it would make the process more accurate and easier for me.  In the posts to follow, I  will show that it did indeed place and secure the binder/folder in the right position. The adapter was worthy my $$$, just because it got me past that hurdle.

You have choices:

  • Buy and use only Janome certified accessories
  • Buy generic accessories and the adapter
  • Buy generic accessories and craft your own securing/support system.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

Whats In the CookBook

Page 9. Abbreviated instructions for installing the adapter plate.

This entry was posted in Binding. Bookmark the permalink.

Comment?

