The Clear Foot

I’m writing about the clear foot first because it is the first accessory I purchased.

Mine is pictured on your left. I included the picture on the right which shows the foot without the center guide.  I purchased mine from KensSewingStore.  At the time, the foot with the center guide was actually $5 less than the one without the center guide.  I’m thinking maybe one was for the 900CPX and the other for the 1000CPX.  Both would fit and work on the 900CPX but the reverse is not true.  If your machine is a 1000CPX and you buy the 900CPX foot you will be breaking needles.  Feet for the 1000CPX are engineered to support all 3-needles of the 1000CPX. Feet engineered for the 900CPX are engineered to support only the two outside needles.

But keep in mind a foot engineered for only 2 needles  could be helpful.  At the sewing machine, I often switch to the single needle foot and the single needle plate.  In some cases, I can’t sew delicate fabrics without poking them inside the bobbin area, snagging and puckering. Sometimes with heavy weight fabrics, like 6 layers of denim, the extra support around the 90/14 needle is all that is needed to produce smooth even stitches.  Feet for the 1000CPX would work on my 900CPX, I probably won’t buy them. OTOH for a difficult fabric on which you are only using the 2 outside needles, you might want to consider the purchase of the foot engineered for the 900CPX. I emphasize might because these feet are terribly expensive. Personally, I’m more likely to toss the fabric, change my plans or find another way before spending $45 plus shipping to work with a knarly fabric that I hope to never run into again.

Back to my purchase decision…

As long as I used the standard foot which came with the machine, I could never match the hem stitching at the end. I mean the beginning.  I mean, I start, hem in a circle and be back at the beginning to end the hemming. Whew! I don’t know which explanation is worse!  Anyway as long as I used the standard foot, the joining stitches were always “off”.  With practice, I got really close. But still I could easily tell where I began and ended.  I Googled and read different blogs.  Most people are like my DH.  He can’t see the error on his own.  When I point it out, he thinks it’s supposed to look like that. He doesn’t understand why I’m upset. A lot of bloggers take the same stance:  It’s not that bad. Why worry?  But I know I can do better. Just know it in my bones.  Fortunately there are few other kindred souls in blogland  and they recommended the clear foot.

I will show you how I use the foot when hemming, in a near-future post. For now, let me say I have also used this foot with top stitching. I’ve reached the point that the standard foot stays in my little cabinet and the clear foot is on the machine at all times.  Generally, the detachable, center-guide is also inside the cabinet.  The center guide is very helpful at certain times.  I’m not regretful for having purchased it. But most of the time,   it’s in the way.  I can’t see what I need to see because I’ve got a black flange in the way. So the center guide also sits inside the cabinet, most of the time.

The clear foot has become invaluable to my cover stitching.  If you purchase nothing else, I recommend making room in your budget or putting this foot on your gift list (for other people to buy you).  Despite its sparse use, I do recommend purchasing the foot with the center guide.

^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^

What’s in the Cookbook

Page 2. A picture of the Clear foot (with center guide) and the meager instructions which came with it.

This entry was posted in Accessories. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Clear Foot

  1. Thanks Bev – I had already identified that there was a problem that I wanted to sort and that this seemed like the solution. You have prevented me buying the center guide foot which looked like a good choice. I presume that the clear foot is such that you can see the seam/line to use as a center guide?

    • sdbev says:

      Oh gosh. I didn’t mean to dissuade you. The center guide is removable and I do use it the same as I would a stitch-in-the-ditch foot. The clear foot is open in front for almost an inch and then joined by a crossbar between the two front legs. There is a oval hole for the needles to pass through. The hole is big enough, I almost think mine would work with the 1000CPX as well. I can see up to the cross bar and then again in the hole. There’s a brief moment, I think 2 stitches worth, when the beginning stitch is not visible. That’s the point at which I switch to using the hand wheel. But yeah, like you I could never line up the stitches perfectly and I tried.

Comment?

